Home

meredith l. mcguire:

Absolutely fantastic piece; I love the depth, honesty and length to which the author goes to explain the need to end self-sacrifice.

It makes me wonder at the small ways in which I still accommodate and indulge the world….

Originally posted on Mike Cane’s xBlog:

Update: See this post for a free ePub eBook version of this long post.

A very odd essay from a 1922 issue of The American Magazine that seems to go against the general grain of most of the articles published then. There is also no name attached to it.

American1922440b

Why I Quit Being So Accommodating

Yesterday was the fifth anniversary of my retirement from the business of being a Good Fellow. I use the word “business” advisedly. Until five years ago, if the city directory had told the truth, it would have listed after my name, as my real occupation, something like, “General Attender to Things,” or “Pinch Hitter,” or “Fine Old Scout.” I hope I am entitled in some measure to these designations even to-day. But I have quit being an accommodator and nothing else.

View original 3,786 more words

Leave a Reply

